Dial M for Mason

I have been working on The Magicians for the better part of a month.  Last week, I was supposed to go to England, giving me sixteen hours on a plane and even more on trains to finally tackle it.  But plans change and I still haven’t finished the damn book.

The book I finally finished may surprise you: The Case of the One-Eyed Witness by Erle Stanley Gardner.  A Perry Mason mystery.

I don’t read many mysteries, though I couldn’t tell you why, but the ones I have in the past were mostly Perry Mason stories.  The mysteries, this one included, are interesting and keep you on your toes.  I’m not going to lie, I took a few days off from reading this book and felt a little lost going back to it.

The true appeal of the Perry Mason books is Mason himself.  He’s a mixture between a shark lawyer and Sherlock Holmes himself, solving mysteries and using the facts and his persuasion techniques to force people to confess.  His track record is impeccable.  So far as I can tell, he is always right.

There’s also a subtle romance between Mason and his secretary Della Street.  I love her place in the books.  Her official title may be secretary, but it is clear to both Mason and the reader that he couldn’t do his job without her.

I picked this book up at Selected Works Used Books & Sheet Music in Chicago, Illinois, mainly because it reflected the bookstore’s atmosphere, which itself reflected my view of the city.  I’m glad I did.  This book didn’t change my life or anything, but it was a lot of fun.  Sometimes you need that.

Categories: Book Club Thursday | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

