Coping or Thriving

I saw a church marquee a few weeks ago with a motivational quote: “Stop coping and learn to thrive.”  It’s a nice sentiment, and there are times it’s relevant.  But while it did give me a fuzzy feeling, I knew there was another side to it.

Sometimes, coping is thriving.

There’s also this image going around about “reasons you’re doing better than you think.”  Unfortunately, I…actually cannot check off everything on the list.  I don’t have a job, and I don’t always feel like I’m “choosing happiness” on my own terms.

I have a lot of goals.  Some days, I feel energized and ambitious, so I take steps to achieve them.  Other days it’s harder.  Maybe I put in the work but I’m slogging through.  Maybe I make a list and only manage to complete the top three things on it.  This post, for example, is a bit late, but at least it’s done.

I’m coping, but I’m still moving.  That means something.

The other day, I got a call and an email from the same business, wanting to set up an interview with me.  I hate phone calls, so I decided to respond to the email and only call back as a last resort.  The Gryffindor in me protested that this was the cowardly way to do it, but just like the coping vs. thriving thing, I realized that doing something the “cowardly” way is still doing something.  Why do I have to make it harder for myself by doing it the way that scares me more, if the final effect is going to be the same?

So what’s the difference between coping and thriving?  Sometimes nothing.  Progress is progress.  As long as you’re doing what you can, you’re doing just fine.

This blog is supported by Patreon.  You can also find me on Twitter and Instagram.

Categories: Tuesday Update | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

