Talking Back

I spent a year on The Daily Tar Heel and decided journalism wasn’t for me, but the way our country is going I wish I had stuck with it.

Sunday, at the Golden Globes, Meryl Streep made an impassioned speech about outsiders, holding people accountable, and using our power and privilege wisely…and many people weren’t happy with it.  You have the right to complain, but I have the right to tell you that you’re being ridiculous.

First off: if you think Ms. Streep was disrespecting Donald by saying this, can I ask you…what is your problem?  Are you one of those people who thinks we should back our leaders 100%, whether we agree with them or not?  Did you do that for President Obama?  Ms. Streep didn’t denigrate Donald as a person.  She commented on one thing he did – a completely heinous thing, but just one thing.  If you are one of those people who justifies your homophobia by saying you “love the sinner, hate the sin,” this is a mirror of that.  Without saying anything bad about Donald as a person, she talked about what he did and why it was harmful.

“But we should never speak against our country’s leaders.”  First: No.  Second: Did you follow that policy for President Obama?  Second: …NO!!!!

You are the first to cry “free speech” when anyone’s homophobic or misogynistic comment surfaces and causes them trouble in the media.  Why is Meryl Streep exempt from that?  Why is she not allowed to speak her mind as much as they are?  Because she disagrees with YOU?

Franklin Graham commented that Sean Hannity called Hollywood “a bunch of hypocrites.”  Do you know what a hypocrite is?  It’s someone who “pretends to have virtues but their actions belie them.”  Like someone who claims to respect women but sexually harasses them and “grabs them by the pussy.”

I wish I had stuck with journalism because the next four years will be difficult for people like me.  A man with no experience is becoming president and he is bringing Nazis into his cabinet.  I’m praying someone talks some sense into him and forces him to consider the American minorities he’s been speaking against since he started.  In the meantime, I’m going to speak my mind.  I’m going to keep talking back.  People, even leaders, ESPECIALLY leaders, must be held accountable for their actions.  You can respect them while still asking them to be better.  You can respect a person while still asking them to listen to you too.  Asking to be heard is NOT disrespectful.

I could get away with saying “I respect Donald but disagree with him” but I don’t.  Until he treats immigrants, women, and minorities with respect, I won’t respect him either.  For SOME REASON, Donald will be president, even though MOST AMERICANS  chose Senator Clinton over him.  I can’t change that.  But I can speak up and talk back.  I can stand up for my beliefs.  You can tell me -and Meryl Streep- that we’re wrong to do so, but we don’t care.  We are exercising our right to free speech and demanding to be heard and holding our leaders accountable for their actions.  We refuse to be sheep obeying blindly.  We will demand better.

Will you?

This blog is supported by Patreon.  You can also find me on Twitter and Instagram.

Categories: Tuesday Update | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Talking Back

  1. Pingback: Incoming | An Adventure a Day

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

