Day to Day

Here’s a thought:

New Year’s isn’t THAT big of a deal.

Time is constantly passing.  In many ways, a year is just a social construct we use to measure it.  The passing of one year into the next is only significant because we as a society agree on its significance.

That doesn’t mean it’s not important or that we can’t treat it as such.  I myself have been reflecting on 2016 and setting goals for 2017.  I know what I want to accomplish this year.  I fully intended to get started on them right away…but.

But I have a major application due on January 5th.  But I have spent most of the day so anxious I can barely make myself move.

Besides that, right after deciding I wouldn’t drink any soda for the month of January, I opened a Coke without thinking about it.  I’ve made bad decisions and lacked discipline and decidedly not gotten off to a great start this year.  And the year is only a couple of days old.

But here’s the thing: a year is not some magical reset button.  It is a unit of time made up of 365 days and there is not way to be completely on point for a full 365 days.  Furthermore, you don’t have to.

It’s important to look to the future and it is important to set long-term goals…but it is also important to be patient with ourselves and to do the best with what we’ve got.

I could get really upset with myself for drinking soda today, or I can let it go and try to do better tomorrow.  I will finish my Columbia application and then I can focus on the other projects on my list for 2017.

I am going to take the year one day at a time.  I will be patient as I work through my anxiety and towards my goals.  I will do my best in each moment and, at the end of each day, I will rest knowing I will try again tomorrow.

This blog is supported by Patreon.  You can also find me on Twitter and Instagram.

Categories: Tuesday Update | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

