Fantastic Mistakes

My goal for this trip was to read and blog about only the books I brought with me from Belmont.  I was going to save my new acquisitions until I got home and made a Road Trip Book Haul post.  But between marathon driving sessions and election anxiety, I haven’t made much progress on The Bell Jar.  Also, I already missed a Patron post this week and didn’t want to do it again so I chose to break the rule and read something I bought in L.A.

And I have to say, one more time, that I am so SO grateful for the magic of books, for the fact that the right one always seems to find me exactly when I need it.  It took me fifteen minutes to read Neil Gaiman’s ‘Make Good Art’ Speech.  I cannot definitively say those 15 minutes changed my life, but they certainly changed my outlook on today.

I’ve been racking my brain for a way to explain the effect it’s had on me, but instead I’m just going to give you a link so you can read it (or watch it if you prefer).  And I’m going to give you my list of what I want to do, like the one Gaiman says he made at 15.

  • Write a book for 20-somethings with a character I can identify with.
  • Write a travel memoir.
  • Write a Disney princess movie.
  • Write a progressive children’s novel.
  • Write an album’s worth of songs and record them or get someone else to.
  • Perfect the Robin Hood book.

I’m sure there will be more, but this seems like plenty to get started with.

There is nothing I can do anymore that will change who our next president is…but there is something I can do that will make me feel better about it and, depending on how it goes, may make someone else feel a little better too.

So if you will excuse me, I’ve got art to make.  And, in the process, hopefully a few fantastic mistakes.

This blog is supported by Patreon.  You can also find me on Twitter, Snapchat, and Instagram.

Categories: Book Club Thursday | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Fantastic Mistakes

  1. Pingback: Road Trip Book Haul | An Adventure a Day

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

