I’m Going to Chicago and I’m Going to Take…Book Club Thursday Edition.

I was feeling ambitious last Thursday when I finished You Are Here.  I meant to finish The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck as another way of preparing for my trip.  But all the physical preparations have kept me busy, so no reading has gotten done.

Again, this is ambitious, but I also plan to read on my trip.  If all goes well, there will be no interruption in Book Club Thursday posts.  And while I plan to go to bookstores along the way,

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides.  Reportedly inspired Looking for Alaska.

Howl by Allen Ginsberg.  Because who can go on a life-changing road trip without poetry?

A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson.  A book about traveling alone…although, a little more rustic than my adventure.

Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt.  This book has been recommended to me repeatedly.  I think it’s finally time to try it.

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath.  I’ve always wanted to read this.  I imagine it’s going to become very important to me.  I just haven’t felt ready before.

Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift.  Not going to lie: I literally picked this one because it has “travels” in the name.

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame.  I started this book on our trip to Cherokee.  I was waiting to be in the right mindset, didn’t finish, and haven’t been back in that mental place sense.  If I don’t get there on this trip, I might never do it.

And, of course, The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck.  This is the book that famously gave Route 66 its nickname as “The Mother Road.”

For comfort, I’m going to take Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote, The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien, and The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen.

As far as guide books go, I’m taking Lonely Planet’s book on Route 66 Road Trips, Tom Snyder’s Route 66 Traveler’s Guide and Roadside Companion, and a “Quick Reference Encyclopedia” by Drew Knowles that I bought at Disneyland.

What’s the most transformative book you’ve ever read?

This blog is supported by Patreon.

Categories: Book Club Thursday, Travel Blog | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

