The Excuse Experiment

11:53 a.m. I receive a text message from Kelly Sue DeConnick and the “Bitches Get Shit Done” distribution list.  “What if today you wrote down every time you made an excuse to avoid doing something?”  I immediately think of the dozen and a half I’ve already made this morning and decide I want to do better.  Challenge accepted.

12:01 p.m. “That’s not my job” and “someone else will take care of it.”

12:15 p.m. “It’s too expensive.”

12:17 p.m. “I really don’t know what to say.”

12:59 p.m. “Well they SHOULD have sent an e-mail.”

1:07 p.m. “That didn’t work last time, why bother again?

1:48 p.m. “I don’t have enough time to finish so there’s no point getting started.”

2:47 p.m. “I don’t REALLY need to do that.”

6:24 p.m. “I don’t feel like it.”

7:15 p.m. “I’ve already done enough today.”

7:31 p.m. “It’s going to be uncomfortable for me.”

8:04 p.m. “I’m too tired for this.”

9:15 p.m. “Nobody cares.”

9:16 p.m. “I don’t want to start anything.”

9:17 p.m. “It’s too late.”

Conclusion one: Excuses often look exactly like legitimate reasons not to do something, but it’s pretty easy to distinguish one from the other once you’re paying attention to it.

Conclusion two: Saying/thinking the excuse isn’t a terrible thing.  It’s believing (or pretending to believe) the excuse that keeps you from growth.  I made 90% of these excuses right before womanning up and doing the thing I had been avoiding.  Once you can admit that you have made an excuse, you can recognize how flimsy it is and how much better it would be to just Do The Thing.

Categories: Tuesday Update, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

