Short Update

There is a lot going on in my life right now.  I just got back from Disneyland and am in the midst of planning a long weekend in Arizona and a massive road trip in October.  I’ve bought three books and reached out to three writing teachers to figure out how to get some writing published.  I have taken three classes in Krav Maga and officially joined the gym, plus I’ve been going to yoga pretty consistently for the last two months.  I’ve been in therapy for the last three.

All of these things deserve their own post, and I will eventually discuss each of them.  But after the Coffee Drought of 2016 and the week I’ve been having…I really just needed to half-ass something tonight.

You know, half-assing things gets a bad rap, but it saved my life in college.

There are things you should never half-ass: relationships, for one.  But I think part of being an adult is about learning your limits.  Part of being an adult is showing up and doing what you can.

The truth is that it’s not always enough, but usually…usually I think our best is enough.  Even if it doesn’t work out, even if your best isn’t necessarily good enough, sometimes it has to be.  Because these are the other options: you overreach and wear yourself thin so that you don’t know what way is up anymore, or you don’t bother trying and you don’t get any points for that.  Sometimes I think half-assing something is a form of self-care…provided you don’t do it too often.

Next week, it will be back to planning and editing, and a blog post I’m proud of.

But tonight, I showed up, and that’s going to be enough for the week I’m having.

Categories: Tuesday Update | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

