The Little Mermaid

Lately, I’ve been writing my blog posts at work and just typing them up later, but HOLY CRAP am I loving this book about Chinese lesbians in the 1920s, so all I did at work today was read…in my free time, I mean.  That being said, this post is going to be a bit off the cuff.

(Also, come by on March 31st to hear more about The Women of the Silk.  It’s fantastic.)

I went to see The Little Mermaid with some friends last week.  I didn’t originally realize it was a ballet, but I ended up enjoying it.  The costumes were breath-taking, from the adorable fish and turtles to the beautiful dresses during the castle scenes, except for the fact that the shoes squeaked on the stage.  The sets were interesting, using practical effects as well as a digital screen to simulate underwater scenes, plus an elaborate staging for the magnificent castle ballroom.

The Sea Witch was the best part of Act 1, and the show really began to shine when the little mermaid gained her legs.  When the ballerina was freed from her mermaid tail and began to dance, every other dancer highlighted her beautiful performance.  You could tell why she was the star.

Lately, I haven’t been losing myself in the performances like I used to.  It’s been a while since I’ve been to a show where I could forget everything else and just enjoy the story for a few hours.  It’s one of the reasons I want to get away for a while.  I’d like to be in a place where there aren’t a million things right outside the door (or in my purse) that I’m going to have to figure out how to deal with as soon as the show is over.  Right now, I just want to be free.  Which, really, is all Ariel ever wanted.  The prince was just a bonus.  I think, at least in the Disney version, if he had left her, she would still be happy with her legs.

Come back Thursday for more adventures with princesses.

Categories: Tuesday Update | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Little Mermaid

  1. Pingback: Fluff, or Easy Reading | An Adventure a Day

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

