Weeding

Usually, during Book Club Thursday, I talk about what I’m reading.  Lately, I’ve been doing more writing than reading, so I thought I would talk about what I’m not reading.  And get rid of it.

I’ve been spending a lot of time on awfullibrarybooks.net.  While none of my books are that bad, a lot of them are from a different time in my life and need to go.  Today, I’m going to get rid of ten and explain why I chose them.

  1. Shatner Rules by William Shatner.
    Reason: Honestly, I’m just not invested in what Shatner has to say.  I’ve enjoyed him well enough, but I don’t love him.
  2. The Mislaid Magician by Patricia C. Wrede & Caroline Stevermer.
    Reason: I LOVED Sorcery and Cecelia, but I haven’t found the sequel The Grand Tour.  If I ever read that one, I’ll just purchase this (the third) again.  It’ll be a while.
  3. Graceling by Kristin Cashore.
    Reason: I bought this book because a friend recommended it. Honestly, I’ve never been very excited about it.
  4. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis: The Gift of Friendship by Colin Duriez.
    Reason: I still haven’t brought myself to read The Lord of the Rings Trilogy or anything Lewis wrote besides the Chronicles of Narnia.  Why would I read about them?
  5. I am Legend by Richard Matheson.
    Reason: I took this book because a friend was giving it away.  It was very nice of her, but I’m never going to read it.
  6. Swipe by Evan Angler.
    Reason: Ditto.
  7. The Jungle by Upton Sinclair.
    Reason: At one point I was actually curious about this book, but I’m not any more. Also, I’m over reading a book just to have it sit impressively on my shelf.  If the story doesn’t interest me, you can forget it.
  8. Home, A Memoir of My Early Years by Julie Andrews.
    Reason: I love Julie Andrews as an actress, but I’m not that invested in her life.
  9. Elixir by Hilary Duff.
    Reason: There was a time I really wanted to read this just because I loved Hilary Duff, but I did that with Lauren Graham’s book and was sorely disappointed.
  10. I Don’t Know How She Does It by Allison Pearson.
    Reason: This is a book about a stage in life I almost can’t see happening for me because of the stage I’m at right now.  And I don’t want to read about it.

All in all, I’m just not excited about any of these books, and I have far too many to waste space with books I don’t want to read.  And the fewer books I have, the less guilty I will feel about getting new books and reading them because I’m excited about them.  I want to be excited about every book on my shelf, for one reason or another.

This is why we weed.

Categories: Book Club Thursday | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

