Three Things Inspiring Me Right Now

Today has been a very weird day, and I would love to tell you more but I don’t think I can yet.  Next week though, I promise.  Stay tuned.

But since that is the biggest thing happening in my life right now, I’m not sure what else to talk to you about.  When that happens, I turn to Pinterest, and this pin here suggested I tell you three things that are currently inspiring me.  Here you go.

1. “All Over America,” a poem written by my 12th grade English teacher.

All over America,
poets are becoming poets.
Maybe they do not have to do this in other lands,
but in America they know
   they will be asked,
When did you …? by someone who cares.
Scribbling the last line
as he waits to read at the open mic,
the morning after when she wakes up alone,
sitting in her room as her parents thump each other
     against the walls,
grad school, sophomore year, one sunny morning
in sixth grade…blah, blah, blah,
I knew then…
They are blossoming into themselves as poets.
And when they learn
it is not all cellos and lamb with rosemary,
     that they will still be daughters
and brothers and neighbors and cranks
and the one who forgot
to turn off the coffee pot or walk the dog,
they will find yet more beautiful disappointment
to turn into deathless verse.
I am so in love with this poem.  I want it framed on the wall in my writing corner or in my bedroom.  Hell, I want it tattooed onto my skin.  I love it so much, and as a writer, that “beautiful disappointment” means a lot to me.
2. I’m on season 5 of The West Wing and I’m loving the characters and their passion but also the way it deals with real issues.  Donna is the literal best and her compassion is inspiring too, but there is a lot of focus on the scriptwriters, showing their struggles to communicate the president’s agenda and sentiments.  It inspires me to write.
3. Demi Lovato’s CD, Confident.  It’s inspiring on a personal level, because I want to be that confident and comfortable with myself.  Her other songs are just as moving.  I had the line “I was your amber, but now she’s your shade of gold” from “Stone Cold” stuck in my head all day because it is SO poetic.  “Yes” is exactly how I feel about Jonathan and makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside.  When it comes to the story I’m working on, “Confident” and “Waitin’ For You” have my main character written all over them.  The line “Bitch, I thought you knew that I was coming for your title,” is basically her attitude towards the Sheriff right now.  It’s helping me get into her “after” mindset.
These are three things that currently inspire me.  Where are you finding inspiration this week?  Let me know in the comments.
Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

