So It Goes (Or: My Contribution to Banned Books Week)

Yes, it’s a little bit late, but I only just finished Slaughterhouse-Five.  I’ve finished two books this week, so I thought I’d tell you about both of them.

Who Could That Be at This Hour by Lemony Snicket was very easy to read.  I read this as the “book by an author I love but haven’t read yet,” and it was everything I loved in the Series of Unfortunate Events.  I really enjoyed the writing style and the “Lemony narrator” aspect.  And, just as in the Series of Unfortunate Events, he answers enough questions to make the ending satisfactory while leaving enough mysteries open to compel one to continue reading the series.

My most favorite thing about this book:  Definitely the narrator’s commentary, and the way it seems to connect to the other series.

My least favorite thing about this book: Honestly, the only thing I’m unhappy about is that I don’t have more answers.  Which isn’t a real complaint because I know I’d get them if I read the next book.

Who I would most like to recommend this book to: Anyone who liked the Series of Unfortunate Events, or younger kids who have an affinity for “spy novels.”

Where this book sits on my bookshelf:  Obviously after the Series of Unfortunate Events and right before The Egypt Game.

Then, I read Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut.  It was the entry for a banned book, because it’s BANNED BOOKS WEEK.  I really enjoyed it.  The style was different than anything I’m used to, but it was perfect for the type of story it was.

My most favorite thing about this book:  Every time death is even mentioned, the author repeats “so it goes.”  Occasionally this is a brutal death, sometimes its just a bunch of animals or plants dying.  But every one is treated equally by the echo of “so it goes,” which shows how death is something routine in war and affects everyone the same while really having no effect on the overall tragedy.  It’s just like…when there are SO many deaths, your mind glosses over the individual ones so that it doesn’t weigh as much on your mind.

My least favorite thing about this book: I was slightly confused about how the narrator and Billy were connected.  I liked that he showed up every now and then, but I didn’t see that Billy even recognized him.  I was confused about that.

Who I would most like to recommend this book to: People who say classics are boring.  You’re wrong.

Where this book sits on my bookshelf:  After A Journey to the Center of the Earth and before This is Water.

Categories: Book Club Thursday | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “So It Goes (Or: My Contribution to Banned Books Week)

  1. I haven’t read Lemony Snickett. I HAVE read Slaughterhouse-Five, though. I…the amount of dislike I had for that book can’t be quite contained within the word ‘hated’. It drove me nuts, it bored me, it made yearn for some sort of semblance… I went to the person who had challenged me to read it, after I was done, and said “Never again. Not even if you offered me a 5 figure check. ” However, the one part I *did* like about it was the “so it goes.”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

