Kittens and Scooby Doo and Work, oh my.

I’ve kind of been dreading this blog post.  I haven’t really written in a couple weeks now and everything feels all…jumbled.  I thought I’d have a ton of time to write, since my mom’s out of town, but I’ve also worked 10 extra hours a week, PLUS gone on two interviews, PLUS had people come over to celebrate my birthday.  Between all of that, I’ve been too physically tired, not to mention emotionally exhausted, to really try to write.

Oh, and I started cleaning my room again.  Basically, I don’t feel like I’ve really sat down or been alone in two weeks.  At least, not simultaneously.

Of course, that makes me really nervous because I’m trying to get a full time job, and if I can’t write while working 30 hours a week, what am I going to do working 40?  (Still, I hope cleaning up and making my “writing corner” a comfortable place is going to help.)

Hopefully, in the next few weeks, I will tell you how that goes, plus have an update on the job search.  In the meantime, who wants to hear about kittens and Scooby Doo?

Scooby Doo: I binge-watched the 2010, Mystery Incorporated series recently.  As such, there are spoilers ahead.  I have mixed feelings about the characters in the beginning, but I love how they develop and I love their friendships.  I love Daphne, who is mostly danger-prone because her idea of a good time is hanging out in creepy places and when there’s a scary noise, she’s the first to walk in and investigate.  I like that Shaggy and Velma start off together but end as friends.  It proves that guys and girls can be friends and just because there are four of you and two are dating doesn’t mean you aren’t all close.  I firmly believe that Velma in this series is bisexual and the ending proves that she belongs with Marcie.  I really love all the call backs to old Scooby Doo shows and movies.  The only thing I have mixed feelings on is the “reset” at the end of the show, and the fact that there really is something supernatural going on.  On the one hand, they made for great story.  On the other, they kind of go against the idea behind Scooby Doo.  Although the way the gang ends up is perfect for them.

Kittens: Allison’s friend brought them over.  Her aunt was going to drop them by a lake or in a lake or something.  I am my father’s kid and told her we’d keep them until Mom got home, and we’d work on finding them homes.

Of course, now I’m completely in love and don’t want to give any of them up.

They get into everything and still haven’t learned that they don’t belong on the counter or the table.  Their claws are sharp, and I have more than one spot that bled from feeling it.  They don’t get along with Allison’s cat.  And I had to give them a bath today (exacerbating the clawing problem) because Leslie found some fleas on them.

Joy.

But man are they adorable.  They play together and sleep together and sometimes will cuddle with me.  I’m trying to get them to sleep in my bed, but closing my door at night is a hard habit to break.  I don’t know what’s going to happen Wednesday when Mom says two have to go.  I may cry.  Although the fact that she is considering letting us keep any is kind of a miracle.

Mostly though, I’m worried about splitting them up, because they do play and sleep together so well and so often.  But Leslie said they’d be fine, so I’m going to believe her.  IF I have to give two of them up…well, they’ll all be okay.  Still: how do you choose just one?

Nap time!

Nap time!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Kittens and Scooby Doo and Work, oh my.

  1. Pingback: Oh yeah. I turned 23 last week. | An Adventure a Day

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

