De-Fogging a Headlight

Since it is the last Tuesday of July, I thought I should probably get on my “Reader-Voted Project” for July.  I found this link on Pinterest and set out to give it a try.

What my headlight used to look like.

What my headlight used to look like.

I only had to worry about this headlight, because the other was replaced a few years ago when I was in my first car accident.

Anyway, the first thing I did was make a list.  This is what it looked like:

  • Dish detergent
  • Car wash cloth
  • Microfiber detail rags
  • Painter’s tape
  • Rubber spatula
  • Large, thick sponge
  • 2 500 grit dry sandpaper sheets
  • 2 1000 grit wet sandpaper sheets
  • 2 2000 grit wet sandpaper sheets
  • Plastic Polish
  • Rubbing alcohol
  • Lens sealer

Meaning, I would have to make a Walmart run and spend quite a bit of money, as the only things I had were dish detergent, painter’s tape, spatula, rubbing alcohol, and some sort of sandpaper (but I don’t even have any idea what “dry” vs “wet” means, or what grit the paper I have is).  The point is, I didn’t want to do it.  Then Leslie got here, and informed me that the only things I needed were:

  • Bug spray
  • A cloth

Seriously.  That was it.  And now my headlight looks like this:

20150728_143405

I think it looks better.  Except the scratches from when I tried sandpaper anyway.  I do think I’ll grab some plastic polish next time I’m at Walmart and try that in addition.  But personally, I’m pretty pleased with the result.

In the end, this is an example of someone really overthinking something that can be very simple.

Stay tuned Thursday to hear what I thought of Isle of the Lost and, hopefully, Red Dragon.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

