Good Omens and The Squire’s Tale

Wow, I did not realize it had been THAT long since my last Book Club Thursday post.  I apologize.  To make up for it, I’m going to try to do two books a week for a few weeks.  Hopefully, I’ll be caught up by my birthday.

The Squire’s Tale by Gerald Morris
Requirement: A book with magic.

I read this book in a day while I was at the beach.  At work, it would be classified as JFIC, or juvenile fiction, but I think that’s why it was so much more fun to read than what I had been slogging through.  It was enjoyable, it was adventurous, and it was a bit of a familiar resting point, since I used to have a much greater grasp on the Arthurian legend.

My most favorite thing about this book:  That most of Gawain’s journey is learning to respect women, but that he also manages to tell people (women included) when they’re being foolish.

My least favorite thing about this book: I’m not sure it counts, but it was really sad when Gawain had to leave the woman he was in love with.  He had done so much developing, and had grown so much, but in the end, he was heartbroken.

Who I would most like to recommend this book to: Any kid who wants to read about magic.  And what kid doesn’t?

Where this book sits on my bookshelf:  After The Night Circus and before Beloved.

A memorable quote: “I must allow women the privilege of interpreting themselves as they will.”

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett
Requirement: A popular author’s first book.

This one took a much longer time for me to read.  I mentioned in my previous post that I thought the authors could have cut about a hundred pages.  While I still think the middle bit seemed to drag a little, looking back from the ending, I’m not sure where they could have cut.  Anything changed would have disrupted the final dynamic and our understanding of Adam.

My most favorite thing about this book: The friendship between Aziraphale and Crowley.  (Also, I kept thinking of Crowley as Mark Sheppard from Supernatural.)

My least favorite thing about this book: Those hundred pages or so in the middle where I couldn’t stay completely interested.

Who I would most like to recommend this book to: People who don’t take the end of the world too seriously.  And people who can find humor in anything.

Where this book sits on my bookshelf:  I put it with the Neil Gaiman books, since that was the author I was thinking of when I chose it.  It’s after Fortunately the Milk (which everyone should read, and will only take you an hour, so go do it now) and before The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman.

A memorable quote: (My boyfriend is not particularly thrilled because I kinda stole his copy and underlined in it, which is part of why I’m making use of it in this new category.  Love you baby. ;-* ) “It may help to understand human affairs to be clear that most of the great triumphs and tragedies of history are caused, not by people being fundamentally good or fundamentally bad, but by people being fundamentally people.”

Book Challenge

Categories: Book Club Thursday | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

