I knew I forgot something yesterday…Day 5?

I’m going to keep this fairly short, because it’s late and I feel a bit sick anyway.

Last night, my boyfriend and I sat on Main Street of my hometown and watched the fireworks as a DJ played a ton of American-pride songs (“Courtesy of the Red, White, and Blue,” “God Bless the U.S.A.,” etc.).  The fireworks were gorgeous.  I love fireworks, regardless of their message.  But last night, I actually felt a lot more patriotic than I have in a while.

Racism, poverty, and other forms of pain are still far more prevalent in our society than they ought to be.  There are a lot of things about the state of the country that I disagree with.  We have a long way to go and a lot to improve upon.

But…but…the Supreme Court of the United States ruled that same sex marriage is a constitutional right.  I haven’t spoken on the subject before because I know a lot of you may disagree with me, but I believe that, regardless of where you stand faith-wise, we do not live in a theocracy.  I personally am very glad of this development.

So while there are a lot of things about living in America that break my heart or piss me off, while I believe we have a long way to go before we should be satisfied with the state of our rights, this decision was a step towards being truly “the land of the free.”  Where everyone is free.

Happy July 4th, folks.  Here’s to another year of progress.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

