I realize it’s late but it’s still BOOK CLUB THURSDAY.

Today (this entire WEEK) has been really long and packed and crazy.  This is the only week in June I’m working every day, plus I started my second “job” today.  Still, I managed to work in a book, and finished A Boy at War by Harry Mazer.

Since it is so late, I’m going to keep this short and sweet.

I used this as my “based on a true story” pick for the 2015 Book Challenge.  It was written simplistically, so that children can understand it, but it doesn’t sugarcoat the horrors of the attack on Pearl Harbor.  And while I worried it would be propaganda-esque, it actually managed to incorporate the horrors that white Americans perpetrated against those of Japanese descent.  I was honestly a bit impressed.

It’s also got this, which made me want to read it more.

That's my Dad.

That’s my Dad.

So it’s a pretty good introduction to Pearl Harbor while still being entertaining and easy to understand.

Book Challenge

Categories: Book Club Thursday | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

