Thursday Update

In college, I used to do this thing where I was so anxious about how little time I had to do something, so I did nothing at all.  Or I did something that had absolutely no rush on it.  I have one story I like to tell about how my roommate came home from a date one time, looked at my side of the room, and said, “Wow!  It’s really clean in here!  You have a Hebrew test tomorrow, don’t you?”

Sometimes, I power through.  Others (of course, only when my decision affects no one else), I choke.  Today was a choke.

By choke, I don’t mean I was completely useless.  I did write six pages today, and I read about a hundred pages.  Plus, I made two sauces from scratch.

But I didn’t write as much as I wanted to and I definitely didn’t finish To Kill a Mockingbird like I wanted.

Yes.  I am finally reading To Kill a Mockingbird.  My sister just finished reading it for her class, which reminded me how I never read it even though it was assigned.  At the family picnic I told you about on Tuesday, my uncle insisted I had to return my degree until the book was completed.  Plus, it’s way shorter than the other book I’m trying to get through right now.

I’m almost halfway through.  I really like Atticus’ parenting style, but I don’t know if that would actually work in reality. Partway through chapter 8, I found myself wondering, “When does something actually happen?”  I like the writing style, but in books like this where I know what the main plot is, I get impatient for it to get there.  It’s a slow build I’m noticing.  I think it’s going to be worth it in the end.

I promise I will finish it by next Thursday.  I’m hoping to finish my draft by Sunday, which will free up some of my time.  I’m going to have lots of it in June, so don’t forget to vote in the poll for my Reader-Voted Project!

Also, leave a comment.  Did you read To Kill a Mockingbird? What did you think?

=

Categories: Book Club Thursday | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

