The Three-Parter

Like the Guinness cake I made for my boyfriend’s birthday last year, this blog post comes to you in three parts.

Part 1.

As promised, I’m going to share about the family event that happened on Sunday.  We drove down to Chester State Park for the day.  It’s really pretty down there.  I got a little carsick on the way (bumpy, twisty roads), which has never happened before, but once we got there, it was a lot of fun.  I played cards with my two younger cousins, who just finished their school year.  Then I went for a hike with my uncle and my oldest cousin.  We saw some birds and talked about books, movies, and my job.

The food was amazing.  We brought home four pieces of corn because the way my aunt made it was so good.  She also made chocolate chip scones which were equally delicious.

This is my dad’s brother and his family, who live in the next state, so we don’t see them as often as we’d like.  As such, it was really nice to catch up with them.  They’re planning a HUGE road trip for the summer and suggested some movies for me to watch as well.

Part 2. 

I saw Avengers: Age of Ultron and Mad Max: Fury Road this week.  To keep this post from being the length of a novel (or at least, the first draft of mine), I’m going to do very brief reviews in the form of Pros and Cons.

Age of Ultron:

  • Positives: The sass!  The sass is great.  The treatment of Steve’s PTSD, plus his treatment of the twins.  Tony’s characterization, culminating in the creation of Ultron.  Tony and Thor bragging about their women’s accomplishments.
  • Negatives: Basically everything else.  CGI mainly looked like a video game.  The Natasha/Bruce relationship came out of nowhere.  Clint’s hidden family?  Sucks and has no emotional weight because they also came from no where.  I actually wanted to see Jane and Pepper, and Falcon should have been involved in the fight more. Natasha’s only scenes were related to her relationship with Bruce.  And the fact that they made her barrenness about him was an insult.

Mad Max:

  • Positives: SO MANY KICKASS WOMEN!  We have Furiosa the warrior, the “wives” who were declaring their independence and that “we are not things,” the mothers who are protecting their own and set out to find a new home, and even the women at the end of the movie who used to pump milk but opened the floodgates to give the people water.  I LOVE THEM ALL!  Max handing Furiosa guns is the best thing ever.  The story of them looking for the “green place” and finding it where they started but without the warlord is amazing.  Every death (and there is death) is important and meaningful.  All the road rage is awesome.  Made me want to go drag racing…
  • Negatives: …I honestly can’t think of anything to put here.

So you can see which I preferred.  Not sure I’ll watch another Marvel movie until Captain Marvel.  I guess we’ll see, but you should definitely go see Mad Max.  It isn’t your average action movie.  I mean, it definitely has explosions and fight scenes, but it also has emotional resonance and awesome female heroes.

Part 3.

This is the last Tuesday post of May, so I’m looking ahead to June.  Here’s what I’ll be writing next month, barring any surprises.

June 2: Brad Paisley concert (yay!)
June 9: Novel Writing: The First Draft.
June 16: June Reader-Voted Project.
June 23: Father’s Day, and the lack of.
June 30: Sarah Dessen at Malaprops!

And speaking of, this is the last week to vote in my Reader-Voted Project poll.  So cast your vote, and we’ll see what happens.

(Also, yes, I got the challenge in my comments.  I’m going to work on it during June, but won’t post until July.  But I will post it!)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Three-Parter

  1. Pingback: Thursday Update | An Adventure a Day

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

