Saint Anything, and Who’s Your Favorite Superhero?

I read two books this week…plus more comics than I can say without admitting I might need help.  So this post is coming to you in three parts.

First, as I mentioned last Tuesday, the new Sarah Dessen, Saint Anything, came out two days ago.  I happened to be awake at five am and decided to head to Walmart to get it.  I started it when I got home at 5:30.  I slept about another hour and a half, went to work for four, and had tutoring for one, and I was still done with the book before 8 that night.

Now, my favorite Sarah Dessen book (and book period) is always going to be The Truth About Forever, but this one, Saint Anything, may be the best she’s written to date (objectively).  This exploration of cause and effect, the evolution of relationships (romantic, familial, AND friendly), and learning to show others who you are when you’re still working it out yourself is powerful, to say the least.  It’s also beautifully written with lovable characters and strong, real emotions.

In short, I loved it…like I love every Sarah Dessen novel.  But this one felt stronger and more substantial than even my favorites.  It is her twelfth book, and I believe we’ll discover, with every book that comes after, that apparently you can improve on perfection.

Of course, as this book came out only this week, it didn’t meet the requirement I set for my book challenge that it be a book I got before the end of last year.  So the book I’ve read that is actually going to check off an item is Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke.  My best friend bought it for me as a graduation gift, and I’ve been reading a little bit of it before I start writing hour every day.  It’s going to count as the book originally written in another language, German.  It’s been very inspiring (as Em hoped it would be) and encouraged me to continue my creative endeavors.

Book Challenge

And, finally…yes, I’ve been reading a lot of comic books.  Mostly female superheroes: Wonder Woman, Batgirl, Spider-Gwen, Ms. Marvel, and, my favorite, Captain Marvel.  I also just started Lumberjanes, which is a completely different thing but I’m liking from page one.

Who’s your favorite superhero?  And, if you read comics, what do you suggest I read next?

Categories: Book Club Thursday | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Saint Anything, and Who’s Your Favorite Superhero?

  1. The Truth About Forever will forever be my favorite as well. I really liked Just Listen and Along for the Ride as well. I think sometimes Dessen books can be a hit or miss for some readers, but I always manage to enjoy all of them. You’re right, Saint Anything does feel much stronger compared to her other books like Someone Like You or even What Happened to Goodbye. Dessen really showcased her skills and maturity as a writer in this one! Glad you enjoyed it as much as I did!

  2. Pingback: Day 2, and The Importance of Living Authors | An Adventure a Day

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

