Since I have spent FOUR HOURS today trying to make a stupid video, you get an abbreviated Book Club Thursday.

But not TOO abbreviated because I actually finished two books this week.

The Beautiful and Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald. Finally.

My most favorite thing about this book:  Towards the end, Anthony’s writer friend (Caramel) says that everyone keeps asking if he’s read This Side of Paradise.  This Side of Paradise was Fitzgerald’s first book.  I found this really amusing.

My least favorite thing about this book: Anthony is a terrible person.  And (massive spoiler) he gets exactly what he wants at the end of the book.  He thinks he’s “triumphed” over his “trials,” and I just kept thinking…every problem you ever had was your own damn fault.

Who I would most like to recommend this book to: Umm…Anybody interested in The Great Depression and the “Roaring Twenties.”  When I read The Great Gatsby in class, my teacher said that Fitzgerald already knew that the twenties would end with a crash and spiral into something like a depression.  With that book, I thought that was a stretch, but with The Beautiful and Damned, it makes total sense.

Where this book sits on my bookshelf:  After Bridget Jones’ Diary and before The Great Gatsby.

Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry.

My most favorite thing about this book:  Man.  This book was so good I don’t even know where to begin.  I loved the characters.  The bad ones were really well put together and the good ones were so wonderful, I wanted to hug them and make all their pain go away.  I guess that’s my favorite.

My least favorite thing about this book: Probably the ending, but mostly because I can’t get the next one until January.

Who I would most like to recommend this book to: Anyone who likes dystopian novels.

Where this book sits on my bookshelf:  After The Giver of course and before Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie.

Since the video isn’t working out, I will simply list my top five purchases from this weekend, in no particular order:

1. The Divorce Papers by Susan Rieger (because it’s the real cool “documents” format and I didn’t think I’d be able to find it used since it only came out last year).
2. House of Leaves by Mark Danielewski (because I’ve been looking at it for two years and I’ve never seen it used before and it was half-price).
3. The Secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lepore (which I bought full price because it’s also pretty new but was totally worth it because now I’ve actually read Wonder Woman and am getting into female super heroes and it’s awesome).
4. Captain Marvel 2: Stay Fly (which I already ruined of course).
5. Rymes of Robyn Hood by R.B. Dobson & J. Taylor (which I’ve been wanting to read as research for the novel I’m trying to write).

Honorable mentions to The Uses of Enchantment which inspired Into the WoodsThe Fiction Factory and A Book of Irish Verse which are old and pretty and I got for way cheaper than they were originally asking, and Batgirl and Ms. Marvel, which I haven’t read yet but am really excited to read.  Oh, and Reviving Ophelia because of its support for teen girls and the one Shakespeare character I will fight you over, and Golden by Jessi Kirby, just because it’s an autographed, bound manuscript.

See, this is why I wanted to do a video.

Categories: Book Club Thursday | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

