SARAH DESSEN’S NEW BOOK COMES OUT IN EXACTLY ONE WEEK!

Ahem.  Excuse me.  What I meant to say was:

SAINT ANYTHING, WHICH IS BY SARAH DESSEN, COMES OUT IN ONE WEEK, JUST ONE, NEXT TUESDAY.

…I’m just really excited, okay?

Anyway, this weekend was kind of busy.  Friday, I drove up to Chapel Hill with two friends, where we had lunch at Spanky’s with two of my OTHER friends.  We ended up at the comic book store.  Oh, and we saw this first hand.  We went to the mall and shopped at Hot Topic, and then really just chilled in our hotel for the night with a couple cocktails and comic books (which, now that I think of it, would be an awesome store concept).

Saturday was the day of things we were actually there for.  We got up in the morning and went to the Friends of the Durham County Library Book Sale and cleaned up.  (There will be more information about that on Thursday, fyi.)  We went to the Honeygirl Meadery, took the tour, and tried the mead.  If you’ve never had it, you should give it a try.  They use 900 pounds of honey per batch, and each batch has to sit for at least six months and then go through two filtration processes.  It’s pretty cool.

In the middle, we had lunch at Waffle House, and it was the WORST dining service I’ve ever had.  We waited for 30 minutes before they even put our order in (we heard them call it out) and then at least another twenty before it was done.  Basically, we waited an hour, and the food was fine (except I did find an eggshell piece on my ham), but NOT worth that wait.  We went to California Pizza Kitchen for dinner, and we were seated in the time they told us, food was out within 15 minutes, and besides the fact that the food was better, the service was really good too.

Sunday we went back to Chapel Hill, and had breakfast at Breadmen’s with Katie and Caroline.  They were pretty busy, but the food was really good and the place has some nice memories for me.  Caroline had to go back to her room and finish a paper, but the rest of us went to Flyleaf next.  I can’t go to Chapel Hill without going to Flyleaf.  In fact, when Jennifer asked me what she should expect, I described the entire layout to her.  After buying a book there (and yes, you will get the total on Thursday, and many of the titles), we went BACK to the comic book store.

We had considered going to Duke, but we were all tired and had spent too much money, and so we ended up going home after that.  But I was really glad to see my Chapel Hill girls (who are growing up and moving on. sniff.), do some hardcore book shopping (since I haven’t bought myself a book since December), and see my beloved, second hometown again.

So this was a nice little adventure, and I’m glad to have been on it, even though I still don’t feel like I’m caught up on sleep.

The adventures I’m going to talk about in the coming month are:

5/5: Networking Meetings
5/12: Meeting Cary Elwes
5/19: PITCH PERFECT 2!
5/26: A family gathering

…some of these clearly sound more exciting than others, but I’m excited about all of them, if for different reasons.  So I guess we’ll see.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “SARAH DESSEN’S NEW BOOK COMES OUT IN EXACTLY ONE WEEK!

  1. Haha, it’s okay to be excited! I’m actually currently reading it now and can’t wait to write a review (it’s that good). It’s very different from her other novels, hope you enjoy when you get your hands on it! And Chapel Hill is a beautiful area. I have friends that go to UNC and love the city. 🙂

    • Thanks for your comment! I did finally get to read it, and it was just as good as I thought it would be (you can read my very short thoughts about it here, if you like). I’m glad you enjoyed it too! She’s always been my favorite, and I’d love to read more of your thoughts on it. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Saint Anything, and Who’s Your Favorite Superhero? | An Adventure a Day

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

