Frankenstein

For some reason, classics take me forever to read.  Madame Bovary, for example, stayed with me for at least three months.  I began reading Frankenstein back in September.  I got almost halfway through it, then lost it for a little while.  I found it in a purse recently and have taken the last three weeks to finally finish it.  As such, I’m using it to complete the “book I started but never finished” item in the challenge.

Of course, now that I’ve spent all this time reading the book, I don’t really know what to say about it.  There is this: I’ve never watched a movie adaptation, but it’s funny how they’ve affected my view of the book anyway.  I kept expecting Igor to show up, and thought the monster would spend more of the book terrorizing villagers.  I also spent the whole book trying to weigh Frankenstein against his creation.  When I was in high school, my class didn’t read this book but the other classes did and they held a “trial” to determine who was really guilty.  I did the same mentally as I read.  I’ve heard from many literature students that “Frankenstein’s Monster” isn’t really a monster.  However, I disagree.  I think he is absolutely a monster, but I think Frankenstein made him that way.  Not just physically, but by isolating him and depriving him of any ties.  I think he was smart not to make a second creature like him, but think most of the trouble could have been avoided if he hadn’t left his apartment and forced the monster to discover his own way in the world.

My most favorite thing about this book:  This isn’t really about the book, so much as my personal life, but I enjoyed the glimpses into Oxford.

My least favorite thing about this book: I wasn’t fond of Elizabeth.  Not as in a “I hate her, she’s a terrible person” way, but because she isn’t very well developed.  I know the romance isn’t the point of the story, but considering her life and death are so central to Frankenstein’s story, you would think she would be a little more fleshed out.

Who I would most like to recommend this book to: Umm…not really sure.  It’s a classic, and I know a lot of people aren’t big on the classics.  It didn’t scare me, like I think it was supposed to.  So I don’t really have an audience to pitch it at.

Where this book sits on my bookshelf:  Between Changes for Kristen and Pretty Little Liars.

Book Challenge

Categories: Book Club Thursday | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

