Small Victories

Last week’s post was a little bit sad.  This week, I thought I’d try a little more upbeat.

I have this problem with Facebook where I look at all the people I knew in middle school, high school, and even college who are getting married, having babies, or starting full time jobs doing exactly what they always wanted to do.  In the wake of that, I get very depressed because I worry that I’m not progressing quickly enough.  To counteract that, I’m going to take a moment to appreciate some of the small victories I’ve had over the last few weeks.

1. I started tutoring a kid a few weeks ago.  The first few sessions were kind of a nightmare.  I dreaded going every time because it was so difficult to get him to sit down and focus and I didn’t think i was actually helping him.  But over the last few sessions, it’s gotten so much better.  I’ve learned not to make him sit if he can do the activity standing, he’s been enjoying these Phonics lessons that Cora (my sort-of cousin, if you don’t know) used that helped her improve her reading, and he recognizes a lot of the “at” words.  I took some legos and wrote the sounds on the side so he can build the words, and he loves that.  He’s still got a ways to go, but he’s learning, and it’s a lot more fun.

2. I’ve been slowly knocking off movies from my list.  For some people, that might not be considered an accomplishment, but since I don’t watch all that many movies, it feels like one to me.

3. I actually got paid for a piece of writing that I submitted.  (It’s here, by the way.)  It wasn’t much, but it was a paycheck for writing, which felt like a step towards what I really want to do.  And it has encouraged me to keep submitting.

4. Jennifer and I are planning a trip to the Grand Canyon, which goes towards my “get out and see more” goal.

These aren’t big things, but they are progress, and when I’m worried that I’m standing still in life, it’s good to remember the progress that I have made.  More importantly, it helps me know what to do and keep doing so that I can continue progressing.  It’s like with tutoring: you try things, they don’t work, you try something different and, if that does work, you know you should keep doing that.

So yay for progress, and here’s hoping for more.

(Oh, and I am taking on new clients, if you’re looking for a freelance writer.)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

