St. Patrick’s Day

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day folks!  In honor of the holiday, I thought I’d tell you all about my trip to Ireland.  But, since it’s closing in on midnight and my stomach is a little worse for wear, I figured I’d just give you the bullet points.

  • First off, the adventure started early.  The bus was pulling out to head to the airport when one of the guys we were traveling with realized he had left his passport in his dorm room.  Then, I got retained for about thirty minutes as they double and triple checked my carry-ons with some cotton swabs.
  • The first night, we ended up at The Brazen Head, which is the oldest pub in Ireland, and Temple Bar.  I had Irish coffee at Temple Bar, but really it was just overpriced and overcrowded.  The Brazen Head, on the other hand, was fabulous.  I tried Guinness there for the first time, which has become basically the only beer I drink, and I tried Writer’s Tears, this whiskey I had been looking at for over a year.  Plus, it had low lights and this little band that played these Irish songs and, basically, I loved it there.
  • Emily and I went to the Guinness Storehouse.  We’d barely gotten through the first floor when the video went off and an alarm sounded.  They evacuated the entire building and we could swear we smelled smoke.  I went back on our last day in town, and it was incredible.  Besides the fact that I love Guinness, the story of how Guinness got from Arthur Guinness to where it is today was a really cool one.
  • We went to the leprechaun museum twice, once during the day and again at night.  The time at night was a murder mystery kind of thing.  I played the bartender and my fiance had been kidnapped by a man trying to protect himself from the fae.  It was really fun and a little bit scary, and I loved it.
  • The day before we were due to leave, almost the entire group went on a bus trip out to the cliffs of Moher.  We also stopped at this lovely little castle, as well as King John’s castle (which was really exciting for a Robin Hood nerd like me), and passed through Galway while “Galway Girl” was playing on the radio.  It was pretty fantastic, even though it rained and was misty and cold and I couldn’t see a whole lot of the cliffs.  The mini cliffs were really great though.
  • Oh!  And that’s where I bought baby Garrett a present and threw it away by accident.  I was so angry.
  • Yes we went to St. Patrick’s Cathedral.  It was beautiful, as was the countryside.

All in all, I had a lot of fun in Ireland, and I really look forward to the day I get to go back.  Oh!  And I recently spoke with my grandfather’s cousin who had some old family documents.  I officially have proof that I am part Irish.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

