Shadow Cabinet

Before Book Club Thursday, I just want to say…I love Chapel Hill.  I’m thinking about all of my friends who are still there right now, but mostly the family’s of Deah Barakat, Yusor Mohammed Abu-Salha, and Razan Mohammad Abu-Salha.  I am so, so sorry for your loss.

I wish I had more words, but I don’t.  I’m saddened and angry (but mostly saddened).  And since I have no words on the subject, I’m not going to try to make sense of it here.  From here, I’m going to try to write my normal BCT post.


The last time I was in Chapel Hill, I pre-ordered Maureen Johnson’s The Shadow Cabinet from one of my favorite independent bookstores, Flyleaf Books.  It arrived this week and I read it in less than 24 hours.  I couldn’t stop reading it.  I kept wanting to know what was going to happen next.  As usual, there will be spoilers.

This is the third book in the Shades of London series.  I thought it was the last, but it’s not which makes me SUPER GRATEFUL that Maureen Johnson wrapped up last book’s cliffhanger in this book instead of leaving it to the next.  This book shows Rory’s transition from student to government agent while she tries to reconcile her old and new lives together.  Meanwhile, Rory still has to find Charlotte and she still wants to find Stephen.  But when protecting him leads to a crisis involving the very barrier between London and the spirit world, the team has to find a way to stop it.

It’s a great book.  The writing is both clear and suspenseful at the same time.  It’s mostly written in first person and Rory’s voice is fantastic.  She shares about her grief, about her determination to work around it, even jokes as she tells her story.  Also, the characters are developed well enough that they’re very consistent from book to book even as they grow and develop.

…ok, I think that’s all I can say this morning.  The first book is called The Name of the Star and you should definitely pick it up.

My most favorite thing about this book: Probably the scenes with Rory and Stephen in the…spirit world, I guess it’s called.  Watching Stephen become himself again and seeing how they work their way out of it, as well as how the world itself adapts and changes, is fascinating.

My least favorite thing about this book: I’m very sad for Charlotte.  I mean, it makes sense, and it was a good story choice, but I’m very sad for what became of her.

Who I would most like to recommend this book to: Anyone who likes ghost stories, especially shows like Ghost Whisperer.

Where I read this book: In a little town called Pawnee, Indiana, 2017.

Where this book sits on my bookshelf:  After The Madness Underneath, which is book two of the same series and before The Faerie Path by Frewin Jones.

Book Challenge

Categories: Book Club Thursday | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Shadow Cabinet

  1. Pingback: The Bermudez Triangle | An Adventure a Day

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

