The Rescuers

I apologize that this post is so late in the day.  It took me all day to read the book, BUT it is still Thursday, so it’s time for…BOOK CLUB THURSDAY!

I just finished reading The Rescuers by Margery Sharp.  This book is meant to satisfy the “from my childhood” part of the challenge.  I loved the movie as a kid, and ever since I knew it was based on a book, I wondered how similar they were.  Spoiler alert: the book is a LOT different.  Basically they took the idea of Bernard and Bianca and put them in a similar, although different, rescue attempt.

Still, the book was, for the most part, very adorable.  Each of the main characters has their own strengths and weaknesses, but they also develop well.  I love Miss Bianca (I did in the movie too, of course) and while early on in the book I was concerned that the writer was using her as a stereotype for the “weaker and fairer sex,” by the end I was very happy to see that she was proven to be a strong person (well, mouse) through her wit and charm rather than through physical strength.  Some people focus on making strong female characters physically strong, and I don’t believe that’s necessary.  Also, (MASSIVE SPOILERS) while I completely “shipped” (as in, wanted them to be a couple) Bernard and Miss Bianca in the movie, and even some in the book, this was one of the few books where there is a happy ending but the guy doesn’t get the girl.  I think we need more stories like that.

My most favorite thing about this book: (This is all very spoiler-y.)  When Miss Bianca used her wit to save Bernard and Nils from the cat.

My least favorite thing about this book: Some of the earlier sections, while speaking of Miss Bianca, seemed to make some generalizations about women.  Although the rest of the book showed her to be a strong character, lines like, “women of rank, once their affections are engaged, can be completely reckless of the consequences” seem to contradict this point.

Who I would most like to recommend this book to: Honestly, I’d love to read this to my five year old cousin.

Where I read this book: …on Mars.  Yeah.  Mars.

Where this book sits on my bookshelf:  Between The Lovely Bones and Tobe.  On my NEW bookshelf!

Book Challenge

Categories: Book Club Thursday | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

