Let’s Galavant Into the Woods

It’s Agent Carter Day!

I’m not much of a movie watcher.  Lately, I haven’t even been watching any TV shows that I haven’t seen a million times before.  But it seems like everything has come out at once.  Galavant was on this past Sunday, Agent Carter comes on tonight, Parks and Rec’s final seasons starts next Tuesday.  And don’t get me started with what’s playing at the theaters.  I’m still trying to find someone to see Annie with me (any takers?).

Sunday I went to see Into the Woods and last night I sat at home and watched Galavant.

Galavant was…fine.  I’m not in love with it, but I will watch again.  The songs are cute and the actors are talented.  I’m intrigued by the idea of Princess Isabella being a hero even though she’s doing the “wrong” thing, I’m also concerned though.  It’s probable that Galavant is going to fall in love with Isabella, meaning he won’t learn the value of heroism apart from how his loves see him.  There’s definitely a dichotomy of the two main women in the show, which is frustrating.  But right now, there is also that dichotomy with Richard and Galavant, so I’m hoping everyone develops over the course of the show.

Then again, I might have had a hard time falling for Galavant because I was already crazy about Into the Woods.  I saw it Sunday and was openly weeping in the theater.  I immediately (and I do mean immediately) went to Target to purchase the soundtrack.

Things I loved about Into the Woods:

  1. Anna Kendrick as Cinderella.  I love her anyway, but her soprano is beautiful and her acting is fantastic.  She is genuinely gentle and kind, but also strong, especially as she grows over the course of the movie.
  2. The way all of the fairy-tales came together, and each was affected by the other.  Rapunzel’s brother had to break a curse, and he needed Cinderella’s shoe, Jack’s cow (which he gave him the magic beans for), and Red Riding Hood’s cape.  Which brings me to…
  3. I loved her relationship with the Baker and his wife.  It was adorable.
  4. This movie was based on some original Grimms brother levels sh…stuff.  (Gore and spoiler warning)  I was both horrified and amazed when the step-mother cut her daughter’s feet, for instance, and when Rapunzel’s prince was blinded.
  5. Overall, just the messages of the movie were fantastic.  Red Riding Hood learning that nice isn’t always the same as good, Cinderella learning that there’s a third option rather than just a dream or a nightmare and all of them learning, though mostly the baker, that while everything will not always turn out perfect, happy ever after can happen, even if it isn’t how you envisioned it.

Basically, this movie speaks to me about what I’m currently dealing with: growing up.  The Baker’s wife looking for her “and” instead of an “or,” Jack wishing he could live somewhere in the middle, Cinderella not knowing what she wants…it’s all so relatable to me right now.

Maybe that’s why I loved it so much more than Galavant: because Galavant is just another story of women screwing over a hero, and that hero learning to be a hero again.  I don’t fit in that story.  Or maybe I do, but it isn’t about me.  Into the Woods is about me growing up, and it gives me hope I too can have a fairy tale ending.

“So into the woods you go again, you have to every now and then.”

“To mind, to heed, to find, to think, to teach, to join, to go to the Festival!…Into the woods, then out of the woods, and happy ever after!”

(P.S., fun fact: this is the dictionary.com definition of galavant (or gallivant): to wander about, seeking pleasure or diversion; to go about with members of the opposite sex.)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

