My Year In Review: 2014

Tomorrow is the last day of 2014.  Everywhere else has been doing “Year in Review” features, so I thought I’d do one too.

I spent the first few months of 2014 down at Disney World.  I worked as a costumer, which was actually a lot of hard work.  I met a few good friends I am sad to say I will probably never see again.  I met a few people who made me feel small and who I am glad I don’t ever have to think about again.  I was at Hollywood Studios for its 25th anniversary, which was kind of a magical moment.  It would be difficult to sum up the experience because I spent a week there with my family, and saw Dream Along With Mickey almost a half dozen times and cried and met every single princess there.  It is the most magical place, and I was so proud to be part of that for a little while.

I did take a couple breaks from Disney.  One was a weekend trip with my mom and my sister to New York where I saw Idina Menzel kick butt in her newest musical If/Then.  It made me reconsider life, and the tiny choices we make every day.  Sometimes I contemplate the decisions that led me to this specific point.  Sometimes I wonder if I would be the same person if certain things were different.  Then I spent a weekend in Chapel Hill with my family and my boyfriend celebrating my graduation from college.  I saw people I hadn’t seen in a while and once again contemplated how much I had changed in such a short period of time.

Then I spent three weeks in London and three in Oxford.  I drank about three cups of tea a day, I wrote four papers, I got my wallet stolen (along with my ID, my cash, my credit, and my debit card), saw a TON of Shakespeare plays (including one with Martin “f*** you I won a BAFTA” Freeman!) and made some good friends who I actually do think I’ll see again.  I loved England.  It’s full of history and culture and, most importantly, stories.  And now some of them are personal, and that makes it so much better.  Sometimes I want to live there.  The museums, the plays, the bookstores…the streets and the parks and even the food.  I took a weekend trip to Ireland with those friends and fell in love with Guinness.  I took a trip to Nottingham by myself, that made me feel like I could do anything and then made me feel completely helpless, but most importantly made me fall in love with Robin Hood a little more and inspired me to continue working on my novel.

I got a new job, a semi-permanent part-time position at the library meaning I am, for all intents and purposes, a librarian.  I have always wanted to be a librarian.  It’s the perfect job for me.  I get to find books people are excited about reading.  And if they don’t have an idea, I get to SUGGEST books to them.  It’s fantastic!

On the one hand, if this year proves anything, it’s that things happen.  I have lived in three different places and had three different jobs, which has kind of been my dream since high school.  And yet, I worry that that was the “college/grad” thing and now that I have “settled” into a job, I won’t be able to pick up and travel, I won’t be able to live as a nomad at all, I won’t be able to be a “free-spirit.”

Or maybe…maybe all it means is that now I have to make things happen myself.

So my goals for 2015 are as follows:

1. Find a way to travel and have new experiences despite being “grown up.”

2. Finish the first draft of my novel.

3. Read.  Read a lot.  Read more than I did in 2014.

4. Be kinder.  Especially to myself.  This includes standing up for myself when necessary.

5. Lose 50 pounds.

6. Stick to a budget.

7. Get a full-time job, either at the library or elsewhere.

These are goals, not resolutions, and I have already begun trying to put in the work to make them happen.  Still, I have a long way to go.  Overall, I’d like to try to be brave this year.  I want to be healthy and happy with myself.  I want to be, as cliche as it might sound, alive.

Wish me luck.New

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

