Two Minute Ramble and the New Job

If you know anything about me, and I mean anything, you know how I feel about Chipotle.

Spoiler alert: big fan.  (Why don’t you have a loyalty card, Chipotle? Huh?)  Right now, they have this series on their bags and cups, and most of them begin with “Two minute…” something.  Since it’s been so long since I’ve done this, I thought maybe that would be a good way to get started.  A two minute ramble.  And…go.

Hmm…you know, I don’t know what the problem is with me and writing this blog.  On the one hand, is it because I don’t have anyone reading it? No active commentors? No one expecting an update at a previously appointed time?  That’s how I usually get work done.  Deadlines.  Without deadlines, nothing gets done.  Of course, without coffee, nothing gets done either.

Then again, it could be the opposite problem.  The people who are reading this are people I know.  Which means maybe I don’t feel like I can say everything that pops into my head…like I’m used to doing.  Or like I want to do.  One or the other.

…Okay, that was really short.  I’m going to try one more time, but this time, with a specific topic in mind.

(Please note, that while I technically work for the county, I work for the library, and as such my opinions are only mine.)

I started working at the library last Wednesday.  My first day (in a library instead of at the Administrative Offices) was at the quieter of the two branches I work at.  It’s kind of shaped like a circle, and I hadn’t been there before.  Its collection isn’t the largest, but it’s a nice little place.  In fact, while I was there, I saw a book on the Golden Age of Superheroes.  I remember once we were at a comic store and my boyfriend was leaving through a copy of it and lamenting the fact that it was a thirty dollar book.  So, since libraries are free, I grabbed it for him.

It’s a really good thing I work at a library and not a bookstore, because I do things like that.  My mom has been reading Jon Scieska lately (he wrote The True Story of the Three Little Pigs, which is a fantastic children’s book) so I keep grabbing those for her.  And don’t get me started on the list of books I wrote down for myself.  If I worked in a bookstore, I would never get a paycheck.  They’d have to pay me in credit.  Which would be useful, but I wouldn’t be able to eat Chipotle.

And there.  Two minutes on my new job.

Now the question is: if I say I’m going to update every Tuesday, will someone actually check next Tuesday?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

